

Community Leisure & Culture Strategic Policy Committee 24TH November 2020 Public Participation Network



Seamus O'Connor

Community Development Directorate



Overview of Strategic Policy Committees

- Statutory Committee
 - Section 48 of Local Government Act 2001, as amended by section 41 of the 2014 Act.
- Advise and assist the Council in the formulation, development and review of policy.
- A forum for elected members and relevant Sectoral Interests to influence policy making from the early stages.
- Deals only with policy matters and as such they are strategic in nature.
- The Corporate Policy Group (CPG) is the link between the SPC and the full Council



Limerick City & County Council

	5 Strategic Policy Committee	Elected Members	Sectoral Interests
1	Home & Social Development SPC	16	8
2	Travel & Transport SPC	16	8
3	Economic Development, Enterprise and Planning SPC	16	8
4	Community Leisure & Culture SPC	16	10
5	Climate Action, Biodiversity & Environment SPC	16	8

Sectoral Representation on the Community Leisure & Culture SPC	
Agriculture/Farming Sector	1
Environment/Conservation Sector	1
Development/Construction Sector	1
Business/Commercial Sector	1
Community/ Voluntary Sector	4
Social Inclusion Sector	2





Community, Leisure & Culture SPC

Lead Directorate - Community Development Directorate <u>Key Functional Responsibilities</u>

- Libraries
- Arts & Culture
- Leisure/Sports Facilities/Sports Partnership
- Community Playgrounds
- Burial Grounds
- Urban and Rural Community Development
- Key Funding Streams
- Property/Dereliction
- Environmental Awareness
- Public Participation Network
- Thematic Programmes
 - » Age Friendly
 - » Support/Strategy for New Communities
 - » Comhairle Nan Og.



Membership

Councillor Kieran O'Hanlon Chairperson Community Leisure & Culture SPC.



- Cllr Michael Collins
- Cllr. Michael Donegan
- Cllr. Francis Foley
- Cllr. Jerry O'Dea
- Cllr Kevin Sheahan
- Cllr.Abul Kalam Azad Talukder
- Cllr. Sarah Kiely
- Cllr. Dan McSweeney
- Cllr. Gerald Mitchell
- Cllr. Olivia O'Sullivan
- Cllr. Tom Ruddle
- Cllr.Conor Sheehan
- Cllr. Elisa O'Donovan
- Cllr.P.J. Carey
- Cllr. Frankie Daly
- Mike Ryan Development/Construction
- Louise Donlon Business/Commercial
- Agriculture/Farming Louise Crowley.
- Josephine Butler Environment/Conservation
- Pádraig Lohan Community/Voluntary
- Oliver Creighton Community/Voluntary
- Keith Pigott Community/Voluntary
- Mary Conlon Community/Voluntary
- Vacant



- Statutory Committee of the Council
- SPC Scheme adopted by the Council
- Makes recommendations to the Full Council
- Focus on Policy/ Policy Development
- LA officials support the Chairperson/members
- Meets 5 times per annum
- Open to the public/media
- Standing Orders





Key Policy Areas

- Tourism
- Culture
- Arts
- Leisure
- Sports
- Burial Grounds
- buriai Grourius



Broader Community Policy

*(Role of the Local Community Development Community (LCDC)



